Who We Are


Heartfulness Lab was founded by Stephen Murphy-Shigematsu, a psychologist and lecturer in the Stanford University School of Medicine and Humanities and Sciences Interdepartmental Programs. He also co-founded the LifeWorks program of integrative learning and teaches in Comparative Studies in Race & Ethnicity, Leadership Innovations, and Wellness Education. Dr. Murphy-Shigematsu received a doctorate in psychology and was teaching fellow at Harvard University, before becoming a tenured professor and director of the International Center at the University of Tokyo. He has held academic appointments in several other universities in Japan and the U.S. 

His training includes studies of East Asian medicine, yoga, meditation, and indigenous therapies in Japan. Teaching and research balances Eastern and Western ways of knowing, doing, and being in designing gentle, healing, inclusive educational spaces. Heartfulness is his way of building community with compassion, connecting diverse people who are transforming self and society. He is a fellow of the American Psychological Association, a Fulbright senior scholar, and the recipient of several teaching and research awards. President of Nichibei Care, an organization promoting mental health in Japanese communities, he also works for governmental agencies in the U.S., including the Marines and Navy, Japan, and Singapore in areas of diversity and inclusion, leadership development, and community building.

His books include From Mindfulness to Heartfulness: Transforming Self and Society with Compassion (2018), When Half is Whole (2012), and in Japanese, The Stanford University Mindfulness Classroom (2016), and The Stanford Way of Leadership (2019).



Natani Notah

Breeshia Wade

Walter Thompson-Hernandez

Isabel Stenzel Byrnes

Satsuki Ina

Jordan Williamson

Thao Nguyen

PJ Hirabayashi

Judith Kajiwara

Kai Chan

Tyler Brooks

Jessica Anderson

Saori Miyazaki Maeshiro

Jaq Nguyen Victor

A-lan Holt

Jeff Chang

Mark Gonzales

Masako Nonami

Manami Yamamoto

Masako Iguchi

Sammie Ablaza Wills

Michael Tayag, Katrina Gutierrez, , James Brigham, , Richard Katz, Maren Grainger-Munson, Julian Jaravata, Kim Pham,  Donald Barr, Jonah Willihnganz, Cheena Murphy-Shigematsu, Takeshi Komatsubara, Gary Mukai, Sho Murphy-Shigematsu

Affiliated Researchers

Sanae Kishimoto, Health Counselor, Ph.D. candidate, Kyoto University

Yukiko Shiki, Professor Kansai University

Yuki Imoto, Associate Professor, Keio University

Masahiro Fujino, Ph.D. candidate, Kyoto University

Vimara Inoue, Associate Professor, Koyasan University

Program Assistants:

G Yi

Idalis Ibrahim